Average day in Shanghai

First let me apologize for not writing yesterday but there was not much to write about and I actually went to bed at roughly 7pm, so that will tell you how exciting my day was.  But today was a different experience, first we went to a restaurant where I tried 6 year old pickled duck egg, some of the guys also tried beef stomach, and I also tried Chinese pottage which is tough to explain but was pretty decent to my surprise.  We also got some weird looks thanks to my roommate putting his chopsticks in his mouth like a walrus, then we found out today in our culture class that that action is frowned upon in Chinese behavior.  Then to my great surprise we came across something I never thought I would ever see while in China, but the great Walmart. Image

Now Walmart in China at first seemed to be very similar to Walmarts in America, but then we went upstairs. I also forgot to mention that since in China there isn’t much room for huge warehouses, so instead they make them multiple floors.  So then once upstairs we came to the food section of Walmart.  At first everything seemed quite similar until we came across some of the foods that were in greater value brand,  the first one we came across was pineapple flavored beer and another food was duck tongue stew.  Then we moved to the meat section which if you guys look at my earlier post of the food market looked exactly like that.  It honestly was quite repulsive, because unlike the food market where everything was killed and sold that day some of the food at walmart looked as if it had been there for a few days.  Also, I forgot to mention but I hope Matt Grahovac sees this post because at walmart they had the biggest bottle of henessy I’ve ever seen and was being sold for 6,980 kuai or roughly $1,100 USD, pictures will be included at the end.

So that was my day yesterday, and today we got lucky enough to get out of class early so after I am done writing this I think most of us are going out on the town and eventually to this bar that also has a go-cart track and drunk driving is encouraged so that will be crazy to see.  I’ll post pictures of that tomorrow if we do end up going there and I promise mom that i’ll be safe.  Also as requested i’ve included pictures of our room and bathroom that we are living in and since I’ll be going out this weekend doing tourist things It might be a few days or midafternoon your time that my blog goes up.Image

My roommate Jeremy making a fool of himself

Image

Me and my friend Sanford at Dinner

Image

Our Dinner last night between the 6 of us

Image

Just for you Matt hope you see this

Image

Walking Across Campus

Image

Are small main room with twin beds

Image

Our sink and shower

Image

Our shitter and bottom of the shower since I know you guys wanted to know what it looked like and most places actually have squatters where you literally squat over top the whole and do your business pictures to come soon

2 comments on “Average day in Shanghai

  1. Dad says:

    Good thing you had clothes on since you can see you in the mirror taking the picture. Now I know I am not worried about the chinese taking over our economy. Walmart will screw over all the small mom and pop business’s there just like they have in the US. Time really goes fast, hard to believe you have been in China a week.

  2. Mom says:

    Oh, Zachary…your English is atrocious! You really ought to take a bit more care in your blog…I’m sure Julie Strawser has had a heart attack by now!!

    Your room looks like yours…messy! (Still not as bad as your sister though…and BTW, she has officially taken over your bed at the house!)

    Glad to hear you are heading out for some fun. I certainly did appreciate your reassurance that you’ll be safe. We’ll see!!

    Take care and enjoy your weekend! Love ya!!

Leave a comment